2018 Winners – Celebrating Canberra’s sporting community

The CBR Sport Awards showcase the achievements of our athletes and clubs, the contribution of coaches and volunteers, and the diversity of our sporting community.

These awards highlight the vibrant sport and recreation community in Canberra, and how this sporting community supports athletes from the grassroots to the elite level, as demonstrated by the range of athletes and volunteers selected as finalists for this year’s awards.

There were nearly 100 nominations this year and, as such, I congratulate all finalists and winners for such a great achievement.

The winners for the six major awards categories:

  • Emily Tapp received Athlete of the Year – Para Sport for her achievements in Triathlon including winning back-to-back world triathlon titles.
  • Cyclist, Chloe Hocking, received the Athlete of the Year – Women’s Sport award for her most successful season in 8 years of professional cycling including winning a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games.
  • Tennis Player, Nick Kyrgios, received the Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport award after winning the Brisbane International in January and recording great results on the professional circuit.
  • After securing the Goodall Cup, the CBR Brave Ice Hockey team received the accolade of Konica Minolta Team of the Year.
  • Netball volunteer, Robyne Houston, received the WIN Network Outstanding Service to Sport award and middle distance runner Keely Small received the inaugural Rising Star

Congratulations to the groups who were presented with a Ministers Award:

  • For Event Excellence: Uni-Norths Junior Rugby Union Club
  • For Innovation: Tennis ACT
  • For Inclusion:  Capital Lakes Rowing Club

This year four Canberrans were inducted into the ActewAGL ACT Sport Hall of Fame for their ongoing and outstanding commitment and contribution to our local sporting community:

  • Full Member – Garry Lawless (Touch Football)
  • Full Member – Jeff Williams (Baseball)
  • Associate Member – Noel Bissett (Rugby League)
  • Associate Member – Dick Telford (Sport Science and Coaching)

Congratulations to club volunteer and coach, Emma Housden, from South Tuggeranong Softball Club, who secured the most votes and was named the People’s Sporting Champion presented by Canberra Milk.