Colin Maxwell

As a player, Colin represented Queanbeyan in 220 first grade games in the ACT Rugby Union competition, but his greatest contribution to the game came through his dedication to coaching and administration. Colin coached various rugby teams for over 26 years. In 1974 he assisted with the formation of the Rothman’s coaching scheme, attaining his Rothman’s coaching badge in 1976 and his advance level coaching badge in 1978. Junior teams coached by Colin include the ACT under 16 representative sides who were NSW State Champions in 1971, 1972, 1975, 1977, and Australian Champions in 1975 and 1976; the St Edmund’s College First XV, winners of the Waratah Shield 1984-89 and 1991; the ACT Schools team, Australian Champions in 1986 and 1988; and the Australian Under 17 team on tours to New Zealand in 1982 and 1984. In senior rugby competition Colin coached the Queanbeyan First Grade team to ACT premierships from 1981-83; the Australian Navy, winners of the Australian Services Championships in 1988 and 1989; and the ACT Senior team from 1978-80. One of Colin’s most notable achievements was coaching the ACT senior side to a victory over Wales in 1978, at the time that Wales were the Five Nations Champions. In 1987 Colin was named ACT Rugby Union Coach of the Year. Colin has been a senior official of the Queanbeyan Rugby Club since 1960. In addition he served on the committee of the Queanbeyan Rugby Union Football Club from 1960-70, was a foundation member of the licensed club in 1965 and a director from 1965-95. He has also held the positions of Senior Vice President of the Queanbeyan Rugby Club from 1971-77, Deputy Chairman Queanbeyan Rugby Union Licensed Club from 1981-85 and President of the Licensed Club from 1986-88. He was part of the formation of ACT Rugby Union in 1960 and from 1973-77 served as Vice-President of ACT Rugby Union. He has also been a member of the Australian Schools Rugby Foundation Committee since 1989. Colin has been awarded life memberships to the following organisations; Queanbeyan Pastoral Horticultural and Agricultural Society (1979), Queanbeyan Rugby Football Club (1980), Queanbeyan Rugby Club limited (licensed Club) (1981), ACT Rugby Union (1984) and ACT Schools Rugby Union (1989).   RUGBY UNION Born: 1 February 1937 Inducted: 1997   Associate Member